Catur Warna

Get to know the concept of “Catur Warna” – The Jatiluwih region in Bali has a popular reputation as a natural tourist destination. Here, you can find beautiful rice fields which are arranged in the form of terraces. The tourists often spend time in Jatiluwih by going around the rice fields.

Catur Warna
Catur Warna

The use of nature by the people of Jatiluwih is indeed unique. They applied Tri Hita Karana’s teachings correctly. Moreover, the preparation of rice terraces in Jatiluwih is done by using the concept of Color Chess. In the Chess Color concept, the Balinese will divide the forest area into 4 zones.

With the division of forest zoning, the Balinese do not have a big ego in utilizing natural products. This concept encourages local communities to maintain the sustainability of the land of Bali so that it can still be utilized by future generations.

Then, what is meant by the concept of Color Chess? As already stated, Color Chess divides the area into 4 parts, namely:

1. Supreme Wana

The area called Maha Wana is a special area that is not allowed to undergo change, whatever the conditions. The conditions in the Maha Wana area must be maintained so that they have a natural atmosphere. Usually, this area is a sterile location of various types of buildings.

The existence of the Maha Wana region is not much different from the concept of modern use of nature. Maha Wana is like a core area. In Jatiluwih, the area included in the Maha Wana area is a forest area located on the slopes of Mount Batukaru, both in the west, north and south.

2. Tapa Wana

The second zone in Color Chess is Tapa Wana. This zone is known as a useful boundary to keep people from destroying the Great Wana region. The Tapa Wana area is known as a spiritual zone, and is often used as a location for the establishment of places of worship.

While in Jatiluwih, the Tapa Wana zone can be recognized quite easily. The characteristic is paying attention to the presence or absence of temple buildings in the area. Some temples in Jatiluwih such as Jero Taksu Temple, Luhur Rambut Sedana Temple, Luhur Bhujangga Temple, Linggarsari Temple, or Resi Temple are included in this zone.

3. Sri Wana

The third zone, known as Sri Wana, is a natural use zone. In areas included in Sri Wana, you can find areas that are used for agricultural and plantation land. Even so, the area called the productive zone must also remain natural.

This Sri Wana area is the main attraction of Jatiluwih. Here, you will find a vast rice field known as the eternal rice field. With the use of the Sri Wana area according to the Chess Color concept, this area remains an area that is both sustainable and economically beneficial.

4. Jana Wana

Finally, Jana Wana is an area for housing and other human activities. In the Jana Wana area, you will find residential areas. Not only as a place to stay, Jana Wana is also used as a supporting facility such as public roads, parks, and so on.

Those are the 4 concepts in Chess Color that are run by the Jatiluwih community in Bali. With the application of this concept, the Jatiluwih community can utilize nature effectively. At the same time, they also continue to preserve nature in order to remain sustainable and beautiful.

Visit too:

Back to top